C‘gah: Repolling on January 2 for 14 panchayats

CHANDIGARH: The Punjab state election commission on Monday ordered repolling at 14 polling centres across eight districts on January 2. Polls will be held from 8am to 4pm. A total of 80.38% of the voters had exercised their voting right on Sunday in the panchayat elections in Punjab. The maximum polling percentage was 88.21% in Mansa and 66.14% was the lowest in Tarn Taran.

The state election commission had received reports for rigging at polling booths and of disturbances during voting at various places. Secretary of state election commission Kamal Kumar Garg said that the commission was scrutinizing all complaints received from various districts. Stating that repolling has been ordered at 14 polling stations on the basis of reports received from the election staff on duty, Garg added that the videos going viral on various social media platforms about the polling process would be examined scientifically. Asked as to how Punjab finance minister Manpreet Badal?s vote was cast by someone else on Sunday at Badal village though the minister was in Chandigarh, Garg said the commission was examining all such issues in detail.

Repolling has been ordered at Wadala Bhittewad village in Verka block and Daleh panchayat in Harsha Chhinna block of Amritsar district, Bajurgwala panchayat in Dhariwal block of Gurdaspur, ward number 5 and 6 of Chaura village of Dhariwal block. Polling will be held again for the entire panchayat of Lakhmeer ke Hithad in Mamdot block of Ferozepur district and Mohalla Nankpura in Nanakpura village of Mamdot block. Also, re-polling would be held for the entire panchayat of Devatwal in , Lachadu and Hari Majra villages in Ghanaur block of , along with the entire panchayat of Mahmadpur in Patiala block.

Voters of ward no. 7 in Saidpur Chhidi (west side) panchayat in will also have to cast their votes again. Repolling will also be held for the post of sarpanch at Tradak and Ghataur villages in Nawanshahr district. Similarly, repolling has also been ordered for the post of sarpanch of Ratangarh village in Jaiman Singh Wala block of Pathankot district.

The state election commission records reveal Sangrur recorded 86.55% polling on Sunday, Fazilka 86%, Muktsar Sahib 84.32%, Mohali 84%, Fatehgarh Sahib 83.89%, 84.75%, Faridkot 83.15%, Patiala and Pathankot 82% each, Moga 81.21%, Ropar 81.6%, Barnala and Ferozepur 81% each, Gurdaspur 78%, Ludhiana 77.92%, Kapurthala 77.03%, Nawanshahar 75.22%, Jalandhar 75.21%, Amritsar 75.16% and Hoshiarpur recorded 74.10% voting.
Download The Times of India for Latest .